In cities, space for housing should be created by knocking down historic buildings. What is your opinion?

Some people favour the idea that historic buildings should be demolished in order to provide space for housing. In this essay, I will explore this notion and explain why I strongly disagree with this notion. Firstly, it is inarguable that a nation without history doesn’t have a future. Historical buildings are our heritage from our ancestors and belong to us, as well as they belong to our future generations. People do not have a right to take away an opportunity to sightsee them from our children. The Capitol building in Washington, D. C. is the place where American laws are created and it is of high importance to the nation. For example, many cities have adopted a regulation that prohibits the construction of objects exceeding certain heights which is common to the previous city architecture standards. Such ruling prevents from blocking the view of central city parts. Secondly, historic objects of architecture are treated as a certain era’s art masterpieces. For instance, we can not imagine Moscow without the Kremlin, Rome without the Coliseum, Barcelona without the Gaudi Garden. Moreover, architectural creations with history are of tremendous interest to the tourists, thus attracting visitors from all over the world, increasing the financial income of the city and consequentially to the cultural exchange and amity. In conclusion, I truly believe that historic objects should never be destroyed in order to free up the area for housing construction. Mainly, due to the fact that they carry our history which should be passed on to future generations. Also, they represent art and are of huge importance for tourism and cultural exchange development.