In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Most of the aged people living in Britain are moving out of the family and are staying with the people of their age. These old people find it easy to stay with people of their age group and have nurses around to take care of them. For such homes, the government has to pay in order to fulfill the basic requirements. In my opinion, the government has to take responsibility in taking care of the old age homes. In recent times, elderly people who cannot look after themselves are staying at old aged homes, where nurses look after them. The funding of this old aged homes, most of the times is been taken care by the government, due to which all the basic amenities and required facilities are provided to the old people on regular basis. In order to explain why the government funding is important, lets consider an example of a private old aged home, this home is normally funded by the family. So all the basic requirements and the amenities provided to the people living there is dependent on the funding amount. In most of the cases, some families don't intend to pay every month, which may result in lack of funds, which will create an adverse impact on the facilities provided to the old people staying at this old aged home. However, if the government is held responsible for taking care of the old age homes. There would be regular funding and the medical facilities will be provided at no cost. There would be no dependence on the funds provided by the families to take care of the elderly. As the government will be paying, there would be regular visits made by government officials to note down the required facilities and keep a check on quality of the facilities provided to the old people. In conclusion, old age people are moving out of the family to stay with people of their age group and to avoid the dependencies they create on their family. In my opinion, the government has to take responsibility to pay for the care of the elderly, as they are the citizens of the country and even if the families step back to take of them, its the responsibility of the government to take care of its elderly citizens.