In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

An excellent transportation system is the backbone of a country’s economic growth and industrial development. In numerous countries today, a number of people argue that it is vital to invest huge sums of money in the construction of railway lines intended for fast trains, while other people opine that such investments are better geared towards improving existing means of public transportation networks. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail, and will provide evidence why investing more funds in the development of new railway networks is far superior. Numerous experts nowadays agree that train transport has far greater merits than other means of travel. This is due to the fact that rail transport is more cost effective in the long term on account of lesser fuel costs in addition to driver expenses, in comparison to other forms of public transport. For example, according to the 2019 annual reports of the American Railway Corporation, businesses that switched to train transportation reported reduction in shipping fees by up to 35%. Therefore, investing towards more railway lines is evidently the wiser choice. In addition, it is a well - known fact that trains have a greater shipping volume than any other mode of transport known to humans. This is very beneficial to business owners and large industries, as they can easily transport cargo in great volumes within a shorter period. Furthermore, trains have specialized tracks which are separate from road networks and are hardly affected by traffic or bad weather such as heavy rains which usually limit other modes of transportation. It is therefore clear that spending money in the development of new railway lines and fast trains should be top priority. In conclusion, despite arguments that existing means of transport should be developed, I strongly believe that investment in faster trains and rail networks are indeed more beneficial.