The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Cars serve as an effective mode of transportation. Towards the end of 19th Century, Britain saw its very first car on the road and during the beginning of 21st Century, the country witnessed the numbers of automobiles tanked at 29 Million automobiles. In order to curb the ownership and usage of cars, other methods of transportation must be given a boost and that enactments be introduced internationally. I concur with the notion as the world is witnessing heat waves resulting in global warming, depletion of petroleum reserves, menace on roads and obesity. The increasing number of cars worldwide has caused multi-fold problems to the human race. Firstly, the usage of cars involve consumption of petrol or diesel which when burnt releases carbon monoxide that has proven to be detrimental for the environment. Reports suggests that every year 2 Trillion tons of carbon monoxide is produced which has encompassed our atmosphere, thus, containing the heat waves within. These heat waves are causing the global temperature to rise by one degree celsius every five years, consequently leading to global warming. In addition, the diesel and petrol used in these automobiles is a non-renewable resource which takes a million years to be produced. Prolonged heavy usage of such resource will cause exhaustion of it and once consumed fully will bring the world to a hault. Moreover, infrastructure of an economy can't be transformed overnight and the road constructed earlier with a view to accommodate a few numbers of cars. Therefore, such an infrastructure is apparently obsolete now due to the fact that the number of automobiles on the roads rose dramatically and has given birth to issues like long traffic jams, waterlogging. A huge amount of money shall be required to rebuilt the roadways, so to to contain the number of cars a law needs to be brought in place. In addition, cars are the most convenient vehicle to ferry people from home to offices or meetings and back, and such a comfort has restrained people to take up walking, cycling or other physical activities to take care of their health, which has led to obesity. Various researches have proven that ten percent of the world population is suffering from obesity that may cause diseases such as diabetes, heart-problems. Hence, to contain the detrimental effects of global warming, over-exploitation of petroleum reserves, tranquility on roads and obesity, the rising numbers of automobiles must be curbed. I am of the view that the use of alternate methods of transportation like metros, e-vehicles, cycles should be bolstered and international community must be persuaded to back this initiative by putting an appropriate law in place.