Importance of transportation

Transportation has been a vital part of the modern life. Good means of transport not only brings benefits to us now but also improves life of the future generations. However the ways of improvements that could be implemented on the transportation system can be argued. In this essay I will present both the advantages and disadvantages on whether to spend the money on new railway lines construction or the existing transports improvement. As for the construction of new railway lines it is beneficial in the long run. Once it is built, people with access to these lines can travel from one place to another in a shorter amount of time, possibly at cheaper rates due to the fact that cost are spread amongst more passengers. Furthermore, Railway lines acts as a more eco-friendly way of traveling as no gas or oil are burned in the process, hence its contribution to global warming or air pollution are less significant as compared to some existing public transport such as cars or planes. If money are spent on improving such transportations, it could worsen the issues of air pollution in the city and as a result decrease people’s living standards and may lead to serious health concerns. On the other hand, there are also some advantages if investments are spent on upgrading the current public transports. For Instance, this decrease opportunity cost for the government as it would be cheaper to build and expenditure could be spent elsewhere. Moreover, effects for this method could be seen much faster and efficiency of the upgrade can be enjoyed by people in the current time period. Consequently, people may be charged with less taxes compared to the case of building new railways as expenditure decreased. Therefore people would have more disposable income to spend and lead to higher social well-being. In conclusion, although there are several obvious drawbacks to build new railway lines as outlined above, I strongly believe these are far outweighed by the benefits. Ultimately, with higher standard infrastructure, people can benefit from the time and money saved as well as the improved satisfaction.