Impact of COVID-19 on the Education of Students.

Due to the outbreak of coronavirus, known as COVID-19, in late 2019, it is clear to everyone’s eye that the pandemic causes a devastating public health disaster. People around the world have been affected in several ways. Students, one of the most affected groups, were afflicted by COVID-19 in both mental and physical ways. It is frightening how COVID-19 is very easy to get infected. Consequently, people do fewer social interactions, and that includes going to school. In order to attend school, students have to use online platforms. Therefore, students spend the majority of their time sitting sedentary in front of the computer, tablet, or television. As mentioned in an earlier paragraph, while studying, students will have to sit only in front of the screen. Accordingly, sitting still in front of the screen is not far away from hailing for problems in physical health. Staring at the screen for a long time can cause students some eyesight problems. Additionally, sitting still for a long time can cause backache and besides, lack of physical activities can cause students to lose their muscle mass which is going to affect their future activities. Moreover, not attending school and just sitting lonely in front of the screen can cause students various mental problems. Social isolation is one of the main mental impacts on students. Staying in quarantine causes students to have less social interaction and when they get used to it, socializing in the future will be harder for them. Equivalently, stress and anxiety are a big problem caused by online learning. Some students may experience difficulty concentrating or staying focused to the screen, leading to stress. Also, some students may feel heightened anxiety about keeping up to date with the school work. Furthermore, online learning limits students from studying in a practical way. Some subjects not only have the theory to understand, but studying also requires practicing. For example, Chemistry, this subject has a lot of theory to understand but working in the laboratory is also necessary to observe what the reaction yields. All in all, due to the occurrence of COVID-19, students around the world have to attend school using an online platform to lessen the risk of spreading the virus. As a consequence, students studying online classes may have physical and mental problems.