Immigration has a major impact on the society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

In many parts of the world today, especially in the developed nations, immigration has increased by leaps and bounds. This phenomenon of people moving from one country to another has an important effect on the society, at large. This essay will discuss about the main causes that motivate individuals to shift to a new nation and also bring to the fore the outcomes of immigration. Citizens of a nation choose to move to a new country because of a plethora of reasons. However, I would like to talk about two major reasons of immigration. Firstly, people prefer to immigrate in search of better growth opportunities as opposed to their homeland. Recent studies have shown that in Canada, better work culture and improved salary bands encourage immigrants from the Asian region to apply for the Permanent Residence status. Secondly, Marriage or love can be another major factor influencing individuals to leave behind their own country. In India, for example, most parents prefer to marry off their children to Non-Resident Indians. Due to these reasons, immigration statistics around the world has been on the rise. Whenever, people migrate to a different nation, it leads to a variety of outcomes like cultural diversity and economic growth. On one hand, countries like the USA, has introduced various laws to prevent cultural discrimination, thereby promoting unity in diversity. On the other hand, the economies of Japan and Netherlands have seen a massive improvement in per capita income due to immigration; otherwise, they would have continued to suffer due to an ageing population. To summarize, as the world has opened up to free-economy, knowledge transfer is inevitable and so is the movement of individuals, across the globe. With people embracing the concept of global citizenship, immigration will continue to influence the socio-cultural aspects of all nations, in times to come.