Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society.

For a long time, it is well known that third world countries have dominated the illiteracy problem. In contrast, in this new age it is more evident and increasing in the advance countries. This essay will examine the two main causes and effect to this problem. Firstly, the advent of television, because adolescent today no longer have to read to obtain information and for them watching television is much easier than reading. For instance today's minors gets home from school and go straight to "the box" to watch their favorite program such as to name the few netflix, HBO, fox etc. Second, there are too many working mothers, with that children are mostly left alone at home and unsupervised. As a result, parental support diminishes due to work related stress when at home. The main consequence to this problem is unemployment. if it may come as a surprise, but the huge problem lies now in the western countries where jobless are on the rise. According to literacy foundation organization, the unemployment rate of western countries is 2-4 times higher among those with little schooling than among those with bachelors degree. To conclude, illiteracy has been steadily rising on the western countries as evident of high unemployment and declining children parental guidance among its populace.