If racism and xenophobia are attitudes that we are taught, not born with, then the problems that come from them can be resolved. discuss this view and give your opinion.

Racism and xenophobia are serious problem which most people have experienced personally. Maybe someone you know has felt afraid of others who are different from them, without being able to explain exactly why. Perhaps you have a friend of a different race who has been denied career opportunities. Or perhaps you have heard someone say something racist to you or to someone else. But what did you do in the situations? Did you let it go, or did you say something? Only if we all speak up and bring attention to cases of racism and xenophobia will the problem start to disappear. If indeed people are taught and not born with attitude that are racist or xenophobic, it is critically important to challenge many examples of these forms of discrimination that we are exposed to. First of all, this is true because children learn by example and by imitation, and they are very perceptive picking up on things the adults around them may not even be aware of. If children do not hear racist talk, they will not repeat it. Furthermore, if adults are made to answer for any resist statements they make, perhaps they will think twice about expressing them, and if they stop expressing them, this could break the cycle and prevent children from learning that it is an acceptable behaviour. Even in the increasingly frequent but unfortunate cases, where people from relatively homogeneous societies are just naturally afraid of persons of different ethnic or cultural descent that they inevitably come in contact with in the new global village, it would be beneficial to challenge any expressions of racism and xenophobia. The truth is, that whatever people feel, if they learn that certain opinions are socially unacceptable, they will not ear them publicly. This is an important small step. It will reduce tension in societies and allow for more positive interactions between individuals of different races and cultures, which will in turn bring familiarty and lessen the fear of unknown. I believe that people can modify their nature, although it may be difficult. So, whether racism and xenophobia are thought or are an inherent part of our nature, I believe that as long as awareness is increased and a social atmosphere that does not to condone them is maintained, gradually these destructive attitude will be diminshed.