People live in a 'throwaway society, ' using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What is the cause of this? What problems does it cause?

The overuse of disposable items is a global phenomenon as people mostly prefer to use and throw things. Throwaway culture has entered everyone's life even after such a great awareness against it. This essay will examine the significant root behind this throwaway society's creation and the negative consequences. On the one hand, numerous factors lead to waste products flooded societies. The most significant one is consumerism. Consumerism is a social ideology that encourages people to acquire more products and services in an increasing amount. Advertising is a notable factor in creating a consumerist society, and people are never satisfied with the things they possess and want to acquire more than the requirement. Consequently, shopping is no longer necessary and has become an activity for many, leading to enormous throwable products. On the other hand, a throwaway culture has disastrous effects on our ecosystem. When products are thrown away, they produce more garbage. Many consumer goods have non-recyclable parts that will remain in the soil permanently. Thus by throwing away goods, we are ignorantly damaging the environment. Furthermore, the waste dumped into the sea harms marine life very severely as it is swallowed by marine creatures and leads them toward death. For instance, in 2019, a dead whale was found on the Philippines' seashore, and later discovery revealed that it had swallowed approximately 88 pounds of plastic. The national geographic also reported that thousands of marine mammals are killed each year after ingesting plastic or getting trapped in it. To conclude, no doubt, our disregard and desire to have more have contributed to creating a throwaway society, and this phenomenon creates problems that are very hazardous for our environment, especially for marine life.