IETLS WRITING TASK 2 - ÍS MAKING PROFITS MAJOR PURPOSE OF ENTERPRISES?

Profits are assumed to be the priority of an entrepreneur, tremendously affecting the development of the economy. Therefore, many people think that the optimal aim of businesses is to make money, and they should concentrate only on this. From my point of view, I partly agree with this opinion. On the one hand, there is no denying that the primary goal of businesses is to make numerous profits. Enterprises have to earn money to make up for the money they spent or take out loans to build and open the business. Depending on the scale of each company, they have to pay for many expenses to handle their basic business operations such as electricity bills, staff salaries (labour cost) or necessary equipment. In addition, companies need a healthy source of finance to run their business and invest in innovations and expansion. On the other hand, profits are not the unique factor, which assures sustainable development of an enterprise in a stiffly competitive marketplace. To maintain their viability and growth, businesses need to invest in training their staff and setting up a supportive working environment. Professional, skilled and loyal employees who are willing to devote themselves to the company are invaluable to an enterprise. Alongside making money, companies target at building up a respectful image in the public's eye by the meaningful contributions to society. What they do for the communities where their employees and customers live will profitably return in the future. In conclusion, though making profits is the prerequisite for an enterprise to survive, I believe that other related factors are equally vital for its healthy and sustainable development.