I was kind to my friend about two weeks ago.

I was kind to my friend about two weeks ago. He asked me to help him solve a question. I spent most of my day studying and researching to answer his questions. Because this question came to me before and I could not answer it. When most people read a book, newspaper, or magazine, they see the words as black marks on the page. This is not surprising given that ink in most publications is black. However, there is a group of people who do not see the words in front of them as black. Instead they might say that the number 4 is blue or the word gift is green. Others might say that the pain from a headache is orange, the flavor of sugar round, or a sniff of a bouquet of roses pink. What's going on here? According to neuroscientists, these people have a condition called synesthesia. The word synesthesia comes from the Greek words syn (meaning together) and aesthesis (meaning perception) and means "joined perception. " All humans have five senses-touch, vision, hearing, taste, and smell-and typically these are clearly separated from one another. However, for a person with synesthesia the boundaries between the senses are weak. So one sense, for example, sound, may seep across to another sense such as sight, so that the sound of an orchestra playing might be seen as green wobbly lines. This combination-an auditory stimulation accompanied by a visual sensation-is the most common type of synesthesia. Any simultaneous combination of two or more senses is considered a form of synesthesia.