The figure demonstrates the process of eliminating salt from saltwater and converting it to drinkable water.

The figure demonstrates the process of eliminating salt from saltwater and converting it to drinkable water. In general, there are four phases in the production. The process starts with seawater pre-treatment and ends with integration. At the beginning of the process, a large amount of sea water is transported to a pre-treatment filter system via salt water intake. This phase allows undrinkable objects to be separated from brine through a filter backwash then returned to the sea. Subsequently, saltwater is forced through a membrane under high pressure, allowing only water molecules to pass through whilst other impurities and salt are sent back to the sea. Then we come to phase 3 when water molecules enter the post-treatment in order to disinfect water by adding several compounds including lime, chlorine and fluoride. In the last stage of this process, potable water is stored in storage and made available to the public via the water supply system.