How to encourage young people to study science

Recent discussions center around how to encourage young people to study science. The main options are advertising and school programmes. School programmes are considered as a very effective channel to reach young people. There can be no doubt that the schools and teachers play not only a crucial role in a child’s development, but are vital as well to arouse their interest for everything, as they are in direct and everyday contact with them. It has been suggested that parents should also educate and teach more their children in a more scientific way, but this is rather a disputed than an established fact. Although school programmes may be very successful and constructive for the pupils, it is probably true that the effects of advertising might have more positive consequences on the encouragement of children to study science. First, advertisements has a way to much forms: from a simple flyer to social media and it can carry a clever, funny and profound message that can easily reach young people. On the other hand, advertising happens generally in an indirect way that has been proven more powerful. Don’t underestimate the influence of advertising! Taking everything into consideration, I believe that advertising would help more than school programmes in the end to encourage the pupils, as it inspires everybody and brings awareness to science in a proven and practical way.