How to deal with unpleasant situations in life

Many think that the best way to deal with unpleasant situations in life such as having a lack of money or an unsatisfactory job is to accept the situation while others believe that the better approach is to make attempts to change or improve the situation. I agree with both views and believe that the best way to approach any difficult situation is by following a mixed approach. This essay will discuss both the views as well as my personal opinion on the matter. On one hand, people who insist on just accepting the situation and doing nothing to change it, often lack the courage to work upon it. For instance, people who work underpaid or unsatisfactory jobs often lack the courage to resign and search for other opportunities due to the fear of being unemployed. Such circumstances discourage them from trying to make changes in their lives and eventually force them to stick with their unpleasant situations. However, some circumstances are unpredictable and irreversible. A sudden demise of a loved one or a divorce can deeply affect one's emotional and mental abilities and acceptance and coping with the loss is a better idea than brooding over it. On the other hand, certain situations can be changed or at least be improved to an extent if we make an effort. For instance, nobody has to work an unsatisfactory job when there are better alternatives. Although it may require acquiring certain skills or qualifications, it's worth the effort. Likewise, individuals suffering from poor health and obesity can definitely improve their lives by exercising and changing their diet and lifestyle. In conclusion, there are situations that can be improved with little effort and saying that all bad circumstances should be accepted without complaining holds little water. But the first logical step to any change or improvement is acceptance. In my opinion, the best method to overcome any difficult situation is to accept the negativity and make attempts for change if possible