How to cook Chung cake on Tet holiday?

A Chung cake is an essential offering to Vietnamese’s ancestors during the Tet festival. Many people still remember the time when all family members get around wrapping and boiling the cakes. This essay will discuss on making this traditional Tet specialty of Vietnam. Firstly, we have to prepare ingredients for making Chung cake. Main ingredients are sticky rice, pork meat, and green bean. Sticky rice must be carefully selected. We soaked the sticky rice overnight, then drain and shake with salt. We cook, and shape green bean into small balls. The pork was cut into squares and seasoned with salt, pepper. Secondly, we wrap Chung cake with leaves. This process is also very interesting and meticulous. We place Dong leaves on a flat surface and put a small bowl portion of sticky rice on it. Then, sprinkle on a green bean ball, place 2 pork squares in the middle and sprinkle another green bean ball. Next, cover with another small bowl portion of sticky rice. after that, fold the leaves over, wrap the cake into a square shape, and tie it with bamboo strings. The last step is to boil the cake. we put the cake in the pot, pour in enough water to submerge the cakes, and boil on high heat. As the water boils off, we add enough to keep the cakes submerged. We boil the cakes continuously for 10-12 hours depending on how many cakes we make. After that, we take them from the pot and press them under heavy objects for a few hours to remove excess water. In conclusion, although it is time-consuming to make a Chung cake, it is so worth it in the end. By following the steps above we will have a very delicious and attractive Chung cake for the Tet holiday.