HOW SHOULD WE ENSURE THAT TELEVISION IS A POSITIVE INFLUENCE IN THE LIFE OF CHILDREN?

Nowadays, children have already been allowed to watch television in leisure time at a very young age. This is all well if films and programs are simply to educate and amuse them. However, over recent years, there has been growing concern about the negative impact of TV on the behavior of young viewers, followed by a clarion call for the curb on inappropriate programs. As far as I am concerned, parents should be involved to reduce the risks that TV can bring to children and make it a safe place for them to watch. First, parents should make sure that their kids are restricted to watching channels that suit their age. More specifically, due to the boom of films and programs with different genres, children are more likely to watch contents committing violent, aggressive actions, which encourage them to emulate such behavior in real life. Thus, those kinds of programs should be prohibited until they become fully aware of how the shows influence them. If possible, parents can even watch TV with their kids to monitor the contents they are watching. Second, regarding time kids spend watch TV, it should be limited for the sake of their eyes as well as their mental state. It has been proven that sitting in front of TV for too long can lead to health problems such as short-sightedness, backache and migraine. Worse than that, young viewers may suffer from unstable frame of mind and be liable to antisocial behaviors. Hence, parents must make sure their children’s eyes are not glued to the TV screen for hours by making a timetable clarifying when and how long their kids are allowed to spend on watching TV. Moreover, just in case their children are not very self-disciplined, parents do not need to place a TV set in their room in order to limit their TV access. In conclusion, it is undeniable that TV provides children with a variety of fascinating programs; however, it poses several threats that need tackling as soon as possible. I strongly believe parents’ role should be dignified in this case. They must realize their responsibilities to ensure that their kids will not be affected by its negative influence.