Bookshops should give preference to selling local books rather than imported ones. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience enc

Books provide the opportunity to learn something new, hence they are a gateway to the acquisition and preservation of knowledge. In recent times, there has a robust conversation about the book make up of bookshops. Many think that the selling of indigenous books should take precedent over those authored by foreigners. This essay agrees that selling local publications should be prioritized over imported books and the reason as to why would be examined. One of the principal reasons why local books should be sold more is that access to such books helps educate young people about their heritage and traditions. With local books, students can gain knowledge about the accurate depiction of their culture from an author with first-hand experience, thus not relying on international writers to tell their stories for them. To further buttress this point, Iran prioritises the publishing and sales of locally authored books and as a result, they have managed to preserve their rich values and culture for centuries. Therefore, selling indigenous books helps enlighten young people and ultimately preserves traditions. Also, selling local books helps promote the work of local authors, hence providing a source of income and livelihood. Furthermore, when indigenous authors are encouraged, this may inspire them to continue writing and subsequently earn them global recognition and accolades. As a result, boosting the image and reputation of their home countries. For example, Nigeria has many negative stereotypes, but a positive is that it is the home country of one of the continents few Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka. Thus, selling local supports authors and in extension the nation. To sum up, the preference for local books over imported ones helps conserve traditions by educating the younger generation about their heritage and also promotes and encourages local creative authors. Although foreign books foster diversity by exposing people to different norms and traditions, this essay believes that the positives of selling local books, namely maintenance of history outweigh the drawbacks.