How is COVID-19 affecting driving and car insurance?

The pandemic may change the way you drive, insure and maintain your car. However, one thing that hasn’t changed is the need for car insurance if you intend to drive, whether in or out of local or national lockdown. Under UK law, all drivers must have at least third-party insurance if they intend to drive a vehicle on public roads. But you may need to alter the terms of your insurance policy if you’re: driving less frequently (or not at all) driving more to avoid public transport or because you’re now out and about again your financial or employment situation has changed Our experts are here to answer common questions and concerns to help you get a fairer deal. Please note: The information in this article was correct at the time of publication on 24 May 2021 but, because of the impact of COVID-19, things continue to change.  Always check the government website to find rules and restrictions for the area of the UK you live in. We aim to keep this page updated, but check with your insurance provider or potential provider directly to confirm any details.