How houses can be protected in areas prone to flooding

Flooding prone areas have to be well built and should have proper methods in place to deal with them. Areas with a stopbank have a higher 100-year flood level since the water has resistance due to the stopbank. Due to the presence of clouds and rains the internal runoff area is present which redirects water towards the internal ponding. The stopbank contains a floodgate and a berm. Their purpose is to allow/deny the flow of water towards the internal pond. When the floodgate opens the water flows towards the internal pond. The berm is used as a lock for the floodgate. This maintains an adequate internal pond water level that doesn't reach the house floor, therefore avoiding floods. In contrast to areas with a stopbank, the margin between the 100-year ponding level and the house floor level is 300m(freeboard area) in areas with no stopbank. The level of river/drain water level is lower here since there is no stopbank present to provide resistance that increases the water level. The houses are elevated higher in this case as there is no direct control over the flood level, so an adequate margin is preferred. In summary, the areas which have rainfalls and excessive water due to rains should contain a stopbank to control the water level and could have houses lower to the ground. Whereas, areas with no stopbanks should have houses elevated higher since there are no control measures for water level.