how fashion kills us advantages disadvantages

In the western world from XVI to XVII century corsets were immensely popular among aristocratic women (and sometimes men). It was an essential thing to wear for any official event. Corset made you fit the beauty standard, but the cost could be significant. Back then it was more than just a part of wardrobe, it emphasized social status, was sign of wealth and prosperity and an important part of aristocratic etiquette. That is why most of high-class women had to wear it even though it could affect their health very badly. The consequences of wearing this wardrobe item caused curvature of the spine, also known as scoliosis, digestive problems, frequent fainting, and even lethal outcome. The problem with the device was that it disrupted your blood circulation, squished your internal organs, and did not allow to breathe properly. Back in the days corsets were made primarily out of cloth and with wood braces sometimes. But there is a possibility that metal corsets were also in use for fashion purposes, though historians are skeptical about it, but the fact that metal corsets existed is undoubtable. Although, the golden age of corsets is over, we still can see them nowadays used for medical and fashion purposes. Today as the culture immensely changed, these devices are used to cure spine problems more than to "kill" for the sake of seeming beauty.