How do you approach reading a paper?

How do you approach reading a paper? First, I will look at a general idea by reading the title, abstract, and conclusion. That tells me what the article is talking about. Then I try to identify the most prominent one or two figures, and I really make sure I understand what is going on in them. The conclusions will help me recognize the main of summarized in the abstract has been reached and if the described work can be of interest for my own study. What do you do when there is something you don’t understand? If something that I don’t understand, I will make a note to look them up later or pause immediately in that sentence and do some research about it then highlight and write a note next to the sentence. Do you ever feel overwhelmed reading papers, and how do you deal with that? Yes, I get overwhelmed. At that time, I will leave the paper a while and go back to it again a couple of times. Try to find information in the document which helps me lack interest. Be patient. Developing my own reading strategies overtimes by paying attention to different ways of structing an article and paying attention to different styles of writing.