How can doing community service help you achieve your future goals?

These days, face-to-face communication is being replaced with online conversations using social media apps, such as Facebook, TikTok or Instagram. It seems to me that the benefits these technologies have brought to our lives are overshadowed by their drawbacks. In terms of the advantages, social networking sites have made it much easier for us to keep in contact with our loved ones, regardless of geographic locations. Students studying abroad, for example, can keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basis using the video call features of Skype, Facebook or various other apps. Social media is also a powerful tool in marketing and business. In this digital age, companies can keep their clients updated regarding newly-released products or promotions by posting their campaigns on Facebook or Instagram, which helps save a great deal of time compared to the traditional methods of advertising in newspapers or magazines. Despite the above benefits, I personally believe that when it comes to communication, social media does more harm than good. The overuse of social media reduces the quality of personal communication. Many people are so addicted to social networking sites that they constantly stare at their screens during dinners with their families without actually paying attention to the people around them. These days, many teenagers have a habit of using abbreviated words, which are frequently used in text messages or in posts on social media, in their academic essays or formal emails. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I am of the opinion that the positive effects that social media has on our communication are outweighed by the disadvantages.