Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Does this situition have more advantages than disadvantages.

Many youngsters own cell phones. The disadvantages of having a cell phone are an increase in screen time and health-related issues for teenagers. Whereas the advantages of owning a cell phone are convenience to connect with them and the adolescents get easy access to online educational material. In my opinion, for teenagers to have smartphones is more advantageous rather than disadvantageous. The disadvantages associated with adolescents having their cellphones are excessive screen time and detrimental effects on the health of teenagers. As smartphones have a variety of functions and there are plenty of things to do like playing games, chatting with friends, and watching movies that make the youngsters spend extended hours using their phones. While doing so, they often ignore their studies and stop playing outdoors. Additionally, using smartphones for a longer duration can damage the eyesight of teenagers and negatively affect their concentration levels. For example, a recent study published in an internal medicine journal in Pakistan showed that children and adolescents who use smartphones for more than 3 hours a day lose focus on studies due to a short attention span. Although there are drawbacks of smartphone usage, I believe, the advantages are graver than the disadvantages. The main advantages of allowing teenagers to keep smartphones are easy connectivity and availability of a wide range of online books and other study material. These days, teenagers go to school, attend tuition academies or visit their friends without an adult accompanying them, it is very important to have the means to connect with them as needed and cell phones are the best option for that. Moreover, students can access any book, article, and past examination questions with just one click on the cellphones. For instance, digital libraries are becoming more popular among all age groups as compared to traditional libraries because online libraries are convenient and time-saving. In my opinion, students can be benefitted from these online libraries anytime if they have their cellphones. In conclusion, although smartphones lead to excessive screentime and negative effects on health, I think, the convenience and availability of huge educational material within a few seconds is far more important than the drawbacks of teenagers having personal smartphones.