Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in several countries. What are the major factors that contribute to the problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

The scarcity of houses is becoming a serious issue in many countries. The changing family structure and the explosion of population seem to be at the root of this problem. However, some workable solutions which can ameliorate the situation exist. The biggest factor which causes the shortage of houses is the burgeoning population. The accelerating birth rate and the limited availability of land have made it difficult / challenging to provide housing for all the people. Another factor which aggravates the problem of housing is the increasing trend of nuclear families. While children used to live with their parents as well as grandparents in the past, today’s children prefer to live alone either to maintain their privacy or to fulfill work and study related commitments. This means more houses are required to accommodate more families.