Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in several countries. What are the major factors that contribute to the problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

The scarcity of houses is becoming a serious issue in many countries. The changing family structure and the explosion of the population seem to be at the root of this problem. However, some workable solutions which can ameliorate the situation exist. The biggest factor which causes the shortage of houses in the burgeoning population. The accelerating birth rate and the limited availability of land have made it difficult/challenging to provide housing for all the people. Another factor that aggravates the problem of housing is the increasing trend of nuclear families. While children used to live with their parents as well as grandparents in the past, today’s children prefer to live alone either to maintain their privacy or to fulfil work and study related commitments. This means more houses are required to accommodate more families. On the bright side, there are solutions to this problem. the government should enact laws that help in effective utilisation of available land for housing. in winter months in Montreal, Canada, for instance, citizens can escape the cold in an underground complex complete with shops and even health clinics under several meters of earth, noise is minimal and insulation is excellent. indeed many of the buildings which consume most lands such as supermarkets, warehouses and theatres do not need to be on the surface since they do not need windows the land saved can be provided to other homeless people. In conclusion, housing problems are caused by the growing population and the increase in the number of nuclear families. However, the government can mitigate this problem by encouraging the use of underground spaces and the construction of skyscrapers.