honesty is the best policy. do you agree or disagree

It is believed that being honest with other people is the best policy. Although this notion is justifiable to some extent, I would argue that we need to avoid telling the truth sometimes. It is understandable why some people advocate being honest. One rationale is that speaking the truth can lead to a joyful life. This is because people do not have any secrets and thus, they do not need to worry about anything, which may provide them with peace of mind and help them improve their mental health. Moreover,  being honest with others also shows that we respect them and consider them as the people who are utterly significant in our lives. As a result, this action may help people build a host of reliable relationships down the road. However, I believe that honesty is not essential and helpful in certain situations. One of the compelling reasons is that telling the truth can hurt somebody’s feelings. For instance, when someone gets a serious disease such as lung cancer, doctors and family members have a tendency to hide this. Instead, they will incentivize this patient to exercise, eat healthier and so on in order that this patient can have a motivation to keep practicing and avoid being depressed about this heartbreaking news, which can have beneficial impact on their health in the future. In short, while there may be reasons to support being honest with others, I strongly believe that it might be better when people tell lies if it does not cause any bad consequences.