Does foreign aid help donor countries more than the recipients? dlaqo

For many years, rich countries have been helping countries that are not able to sustain their population’s needs and requirements and offering them social or economical aid. However, while the aid program is intended to help the development of the country in need, there is a public opinion that foreign countries who show aid benefit more than the recipient. To my way of thinking, it is partly true due to the fact that it can negatively affect the economy and politics of the country that is receiving help. To begin with, when the beneficiary country receives help all the time then it can become dependent on the products that are being imported. The interest of the population towards local products can fall considerably leading to damage to the country’s economics. A similar situation can be noticed in my country. Mongolia is a developing country and for numerous years the two neighboring countries, Russia and China have been exporting almost half of the goods that are required here. It has led to the situation that local farmers are no longer able to produce these products themselves and have become dependent on them. This has on the other hand good effects on the local economy of the donor’s country due to the increasing demands. Secondly, the culture of the recipient can be influenced by the culture of nations from whom they get help. The donor country can interfere in politics by entering its own ideology or political views. The incompetent politicians of the beneficiary country may follow them since they are not able to fulfill the needs and requirements of the population. This can lead to full dominance of the donor country of a developing country. In the final analysis, there are some serious problems that can occur in the beneficiary nation due to the fact that some countries, while providing help tend to pay more attention to their own interest and benefits. To prevent this it is important that the citizens of the affected country are aware of this and take action towards it before it is too late.