Historical monuments and museums are visited only by the tourists, locals do not visit them. Why is this happening? What are the solutions to prevent this?

Places of traditional significance and museums, while often visited by the foreign travelers, fail to attract the local communities, which is because of the lack of appreciation and acknowledgement of the local culture, among the native population. It can be remedied by increasing publicity activities, to make the people more aware. We will discuss this further, in the essay. Most people are not completely aware of their cultural heritage and hence, do not possess a good understanding of their ancestral lineage. In other words, it causes a nonchalant attitude among the local people, when it comes to places of historical importance. For example, a recent study by the American Psychiatrists' Association, (APA), claimed that more people were likely to visit a museum in a foreign land, rather than the one in their locality. Therefore, it is illustrative of how local communities lack a real understanding and appreciation of their culture. One possible way to tackle the problem would be to increase publicity activities, to garner local attention. Specific information about the sites can be spread through flyers, mass media, and via the internet. Moreover, increasing awareness and educating the population by such approaches will attract the native crowd. For instance, a museum in India, recorded a two-fifth rise in the visits by the local population, following several publicity activities. Besides, another possible solution would be to invest more in reconstruction and renovation strategies, by channeling more funds towards the cause by government bodies. In conclusion, sites of historical significance are visited less by the locals because of a lack of appreciation and understanding of the local culture, which can be combated by more publicities and sufficient government funding. With these suggested measures, there will be an increasing percentage of local people visiting museums and historical sites, in the future.