High stakes english language tests such as IELTS, are being increasingly delivered on the computers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

English language tests like IELTS is popular among people who intend to migrate to other countries in search of employment or pursue higher education. Nowadays, these tests are more delivered through electronic medium such as the computers, rather than the traditional paper-based tests. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this trend and show that, indeed, computer based tests are superior to paper based tests. Firstly, the most prominent advantage of the computer based test is that it provides the test taker with editing options such as cut, copy and paste. For example, the user need not erase or rewrite the sentences, which saves a lot of time, thus encouraging the user to check his response for eliminating the errors. Secondly, some people are concerned about their handwriting and the way they present their answer in a paper. Fortunately, in computer based tests students have to type significant. However, it is accompanied by a few disadvantages such as the typing speed and flow of ideas. Since these tests are time restricted, it demands the person to possess high typing speed, in order to complete the test on time. But, many students lack this skill. To elucidate, students who have completed type writing course and obtained a certificate for the same are limited. In addition, some students are used to writing exams in the traditional paper based method. If this practice is changed, it would affect the flow of ideas and creativity, which is most essential for writing essays. Overall, the drawbacks pale in comparison to the benefits. To conclude, paper based tests which is the oldest form of exams are outdated and is now being dominated by the modern computer deivered exams, as it is considered to be the easiest way by many. Clearly, the advantages of the latter outweigh its disadvantages.