he body can use some amino acids to make glucose, while others can be used for energy or fat. Before an amino acid enters any metabolic pathway, its nitrogenous amine group must be removed through demineralization. To obtain energy, the body uses

The body can use some amino acids to make glucose, while others can be used for energy or fat. Before an amino acid enters any metabolic pathway, its nitrogenous amine group must be removed through demineralization. To obtain energy, the body uses glucose and fatty acids as its main fuel and, to a lesser extent, amino acids. To make glucose, the body can use all carbohydrates and most amino acids, but it can only convert 5% of the fat (the glycerol portion) into glucose. Fatty acids do not make glucose. To make protein, the body needs amino acids. It can use glucose and glycerol to make some unnecessary amino acids in the presence of nitrogen; It cannot use fatty acids to make body proteins. Finally, when energy intake exceeds the body's needs, all three energy-generating nutrients can contribute to fat storage in the body. Final steps of energy metabolism So far, the discussion has followed each energy-generating nutrient along three different pathways.