Growing up, I have been to a few cultural exchanges with the Japanese people that made me appreciate their culture of giving and sharing.

Growing up, I have been to a few cultural exchanges with the Japanese people that made me appreciate their culture of giving and sharing. With my mom being a member of a Japanese non-profit organization, I witnessed their generosity when they provided training about sericulture farming and the rearing of silkworms that supported many local farmers. I was also part of my school's music club. I remember playing the flute to welcome visitors from Ibaraki. After college, I became an English tutor to Japanese students. I taught them English vocabulary and pronunciation. In return, they told me about Japan and its culture. The most interesting is how they've got vending machines for almost everything! These experiences stoked my desire to join the JET program. I can relate it to the concept of “ikigai” - something that gives someone a sense of direction and happiness. The aim of the program echoes my passion for teaching and becoming a cultural representative. My love for English and teaching grows from my personal experience of being a second language learner. I want to be a role model and encourage my students that with practice and determination, they will be able to speak English just as well. On this year’s National Children’s Month, I joined an outreach program where I taught kids belonging to an Indigenous community. On World Education Empathy Week, I worked alongside 350 volunteer educators to provide free classes to students around the world. I want to incorporate these activities into the local Japanese community in a quest to reach more people thru education and cultural exchange. I have appreciated what they have done for my city, and I want to return the favor by being a valued member of their community. I believe that I am a natural fit for the JET program and will be able to carry out the duties and responsibilities of an ALT. I have nine years of experience teaching English to a wide variety of students encompassing diverse backgrounds. From Japanese and Koreans in the Philippines, Vietnamese in Vietnam, and Chileans, Spanish, and Argentinians in Spain. At all levels and ages, from the basic beginner to intermediate, from very young learners to teens up to adults. With my TESOL and CELTA training, I will provide structured and student-centered lessons, and be aware of the different needs and preferences of students in a classroom. Outside of classes, I have participated in various extracurricular activities. I have experience hosting speech contests and English Festivals. I have helped organize extracurricular activities such as Mid-Autumn, Children’s day, and Halloween festivals. Because of my dedication, I was awarded Teacher of the Year twice by my last company in Hanoi. With the JET program, I will demonstrate the same work ethic and commitment. I am positive that my knowledge of English teaching and well-rounded ability allows me to excel. After the program, I plan to take a professional English certification course so I can be a Licensed teacher. I want to teach, not just English but, other Humanities subjects. JET would be a great training ground to experience teaching in a different cultural setting. As I have shared my experiences living and teaching in Vietnam and Spain, I also will be very proud to share my experience in the JET program with my community. I could provide a sense of inspiration for them to consider applying for the program. The program will be a great opportunity to meet many of my professional and personal aspirations.