Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Whether grades provide benefits to academic learning or not remains controversial. Some people claim that it motivates students to learn, while others argue that it put students under pressure. In my viewpoint, I entirely concur with the former statement. First and foremost, scores show the students’ competence. Not only do scores check their comprehension but also the efficiency of their practice and revision for exams. Receiving unwanted marks, learners adjust their learning methods to broaden knowledge and rectify mistakes because of the burning desire to improve their performances. Therefore, students are spurred to make efforts to learn to get higher marks within their capabilities. Second of all, high grades contribute to gaining admission to the university. It is apparent that all universities want good entry-level quality to ensure teaching progress. Therefore, getting high scores on exams is regarded as a sign of the opportunity to apply to the universities students crave. This educational chance is the ambitious goal encouraging students to spend more time studying. Last but not least, satisfaction will be found when learners gain the marks they strive for. As a reward for students' hard work, the desired grades help them relieve stress and achieve a feeling of happiness. They think they succeed in reaching the impressive achievement. Indeed, initial successes in the educational environment set the stage for notable ones in the future career. That is why grades give the students motivation. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I believe scores arouse learners’ academic interest by proving their capacity, offering a great chance of enrolment, and giving a sense of fulfillment. Henceforth, grades should no longer be underestimated in schools.