grades encourage student to work harder at school

Education is a crucial part of our life. Our education system requires the student to get good grades. Some believe that scores can motivate the student to work harder. I disagree with this statement because I believe grades are just a number to measure the level of understanding. In this essay, I will describe the following reason. First, most students going to school without any motivation. They think that it is just an obligation as a child, doing their assignment for no reason. Sometimes, it makes a student feel tired and do not want to go to school anymore. For instance, in this recent years, I do not know why I have to go to school every day, learning things that I think are not useful. But, after finding out, I realize it is not about the grade, it is about my future and school is the process to reach that goal. From this experience, I believe things that make a student wants to work harder are their future goals. Second, some parents are compelling their children to get a perfect score. Even they like to compare the intelligence of their child. It can make a student feel under pressure. This situation will not make them diligent but instead, become stress. It can make them hate studying and have the trauma of getting bad scores. To conclude, I believe the score is just a measurement, I can not say that it can make the student feel more motivated to work harder. Because when they have a goal, the desire to work even harder can appear by itself.