A family has a great influence on children’s development, but others believe that the media is a bigger influence.

Nowadays, although the rise in high-tech devices is why people advocate that media play a crucial role in children's growth, I state that the impact of their families is more deeply. This essay will go deeper into both views. To begin with, television programs and the internet are having a profound impact on our children's personality and mental formation as well as their physical health. To clarify, many experts argue that while the increasing exposure to new forms of technology has broadened our children's knowledge significantly compared to us at that ages, it also responds to the lack of physical activity in our children, which is the main cause of their current rise in obesity. Moreover, the more time children spend in the online world, the less they connect with their family and friends, which makes their impact by the media become unpredictable and intractable to their parents and tutors. On the other hand, families who raise and spend most of the time with children still hold the central role in their development. For instance, most of today's young and successful politicians, composers, or scientists also have parents working in the same field who are admitted to have a positive influence and help navigate their children’s cognition from very young ages. Furthermore, parents not only limit their child's screen time and the TV shows they can watch, but they can also encourage them to engage in more beneficial physical activity and interact with real friends rather than online ones. Therefore, family can both reduce the bad effects of the media and optimize the advantages of it. In conclusion, the era of technological advancement makes it undeniable that media is having a vital impact on children's development. However, the principal role of families, in my opinion, still remain unchanged.