Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

It is the government's responsibility to build a society with all the necessary facilities for the public. Some people say that the government should spend more money on building railway than on roadways. I completely agree with the above statement as rail network is more environmentally friendly than roads. The first and foremost reason to support, building a modern rail line will save a lot of valuable time. People can travel long distances with much more ease, which is not possible because of the congestion on roads nowadays. For example, the new metro line built-in Mumbai a few years ago has made it easy to reach Powai faster, which usually took hours by road. It has reduced commuting time, and people can reach their destination in time. There are more personal vehicles on roads than public transport. People travel alone using a four-wheeler. This harms the environment and increases carbon emissions. Renewable resources will soon be over, so we must switch to environmentally less degrading alternatives. Spending more money to improve the current rail network than on building roads will increase the number of people that will use railways as it is more convenient. It will ensure a reduction in carbon footprint and have a long-term positive impact on the environment due to less traffic caused by vehicles that emit carbon dioxide. In my opinion, the road network in almost all the countries is already well developed. It is high time that the government should start undertaking projects such as the metro example mentioned above. This will reduce traffic jams and ensure that we do not harm the environment any further.