Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening.

People have different opinions about whether or not technology has widened the gap between the rich and poor. While some people believe it has, I believe that technology has given poor people the opportunity to get a better education. Some people believe that technology has further separated the rich from the poor due to the high cost of devices these days. Modern gadgets, including the iPhone and iPad, cost hundreds of dollars, and poor people just cannot afford to buy them. Rich people are the ones who benefit from the newest products and can continue amassing wealth. For example, Jeff Bezos’s entire house is made up of the newest technology, including a voice-activated oven and shower. A poor person could never afford or install this type of software at home. Even though technology could widen the gap between the upper class and lower class in some ways, I believe that it ultimately narrows it. All people, even low-income communities, now have access to free information online. At no cost, they can research all different subjects online, including science and history, and read electronic books. For example, thirty years ago, children in the underfunded city of Chicago used to score low marks on exams compared to rich children in nearby schools. Nowadays, with affordable technology and free educational websites, these vulnerable students do just as well on their year-end exams as well-off students. Although there is some evidence to suggest that technology widens the gap between the rich and poor, I believe that it has ultimately decreased it, especially in schools. With the help of the Internet, people of all backgrounds can get a similar education.