Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. Agree disagree?

There is an argument that roads should not be funded by governments but railways. Although it is vital railways to get funded, however, I disagree with this opinion, primarily because more people are using roads and additionally, it creates safety for the population. First benefit of giving money in order to fix the roads because roads are commonly used among the mass. Simply put, many people whoever earn a little money more often than not try to get rid of arduous life by purchasing a vehicle. Because everybody wants to go for a picnic or camping so, buying a car makes their life much easier to handle some issues. Therefore, everyday many are on these roads either on the bus or in personal cars. Besides it, government should spend money on things that beneficial for the economy. Since roads are one of them as government collects money throughout the road transportation. Furthermore, as the time goes by, roads become more unsafe. What I mean by this, people whether going on the bus, driving own vehicles, or walking are becoming increasingly enthusiastic to use the roads. In this case, going without attention to the road or not to repairing them can have a disastrous result not only for commuters on the buses or in the cars but also pedestrians. For instance, in the city center of Istanbul in Turkey road were more worn and torn for the long period of time so, everyday people were experiencing many accidents. After government funding the road terrible accidents are diminished 95 percent. However, if the roads are fixed properly it will secure more happy life for everyone and get rid of unpleasant situation. All things considered, benefits of the roads being used by many people and their safety are worth the effort in order to better the economy and provide for people happy life.