Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Since 1990 to the present year 2021 there has been a drastic increase in the number of people using car as their primary transport in the cities due to a rise in car purchase. However, The growth in automobile manufacturing also contributes to this factor for example; In today’s generation there is a car at every price range something for everyone irrespective of their income or financial background. Many cities across the globe have turned into ‘one big traffic jam’ and in my opinion this statement is definitely true. As we can notice various metropolitan cities around the world for instance; Los Angeles or Mumbai although, In different parts of the globe they have severe traffic jams in common. In these places previously mentioned the number of people who own a car per km/square has significantly increased as compared to 1990. The high number of cars per family also contributes to this factor for instance; A family of 4 members have 4 cars which is not even a necessity when public transports are available in the city. However, This situation can be dealt with till some extent with the help of the government. There are certain steps the government of each country can take in order to not encourage the people from using their cars. Firstly, The government can impose some taxes or charges which will lead to fuel being more expensive. Secondly, Carpool should be encouraged and should be quite cheap in order for attracting people of all financial classes. However, This practice has already started in some places for instance; Delhi, India due to increasing pollution in the capital of India the government has taken an initiative to promote carpool culture through apps at a cheap rate with a benefit of cheaper fuel if the user is verified with the government application on their device. Overall, With the cooperation of the people along with such measures of the government the traffic jams and usage of cars can be reduced. Certain simple steps at a time such as carpooling and expensive fuel rates may help tackle the issue of traffic jams.