Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

It is often argued that are more advantages to build a railway compared with renovated or constructed a new road in order to utilize the government budget. I partly disagree with this opinion and think that it all depends on where and the needs of each location. First, when the government spends money on the place which has a low population and long transport distance due to the fact of the gravel way or frequently called as off-road that must be delayed time. It is more beneficial to construct a new road that might be impacted on travel speed. For example, on the hinterland specifically Tanjung Uban, the small city which located in the Province of Riau Island, by built a new way will make easier to the local there, in order to transport from one place to another. Moreover, it might be helped to intensify their earning. That's why it is more important to prefer on built a new road rather than a railway which must be helpful for some places. On the other hand, I believe that the government must know what kind of development has an enormous effect on each specific city or maybe province. Furthermore, if the place has a problematic in dense population and also a traffic jam. Even if the government keeps focusing on constructing a new road or enlarge it, this thing will not have a huge impact. For instance, it is taking place in Jakarta City, which is well known for its huge population and renowned with congestion, enlarging the road is useless owing to the fact that every year this city experienced in growth of citizens. Thus, it is more beneficial to construct a new railway rather than a new road. To conclude, strongly believe that the government budget is going to be beneficial by a critical view for a huge effect ahead.