Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

It is often argued that is more advantages to built a railways compared with renovated or constructed a new road in order to utilize the government budget. I partly disagree with this opinion and think that is all depend on where and the needs of each location. First of all, when the government spend money on the place which has a low population and long transport distance because of the gravel way or often called as off road that must be delayed time. It is more beneficial to construct a new road that might be impacted on travel speed. For example, on the hinterland specifically Tanjung Uban, the small city which located in the Province of Riau Island, by built a new way will make easier to the local there, in order to transport from one place to another. Moreover, it might be helped to intensify their earning. That's why it is more important to prefer on built a new road rather than a railways which must be helpful for some places. On the other hand, I believe that the government must be know what kind of development which has an enormous effect for each specific city or maybe province. Furthermore, if the place has a problematic in dense population and also a traffic jam. Even if the government keep focusing on constructing a new road or enlarge it, this thing will not has a huge impact. For instance, it is tooked place in Jakarta City, which is well known by its huge population and renowned with a congestion, enlarging the road is useless because every year this city experienced in a growth of citizens. Thus, it is more beneficial to construct a new railway rather than a new road. To conclude, strongly believe that government budget is going to be beneficial by a critical view for a huge effect ahead.