Governments should not provide care of financial support for elderly because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views whether governments should help senior citizens. To a certain extent I accept that retired people have responsibilities to save and prepare money for themself. I also disagree with the idea elderly people do not have any support from the state because of some reasons. The first reason is seniors do not have salary anymore after they stop working. Secondly, elderly people's health is not as good as young people. They may easily have aging-diseases such as heart-stroke, cancer, . . . Then they will have to pay a lot of money for hospital expenses. In addition, senior people pay much taxes when working. They enrich the national budgets through the taxes and contribute to society. So governments need to provide monthly for senior citizens to maintain their life. On the other hand, the senior citizens should save and prepare money before retirement because of some reasons above. For example, elderly people can not work as well as they did since their health. By saving, they can support themself and do whatever they want such as travelling, shopping and taking up new hobbies. They can also do some jobs which need physical involvement. Besides caring of elderly people, governments also care of children. It means if senior people can support themself, the state will not have difficulties with finances. In conclusion, it is certainly true that governments should care of financial support for elderly but seniors still have to prepare for their life after retirement.