Governments should continue to enforce capital punishment rather than abolishing it.

The increasing incidence of crime is a problem that requires urgent action. In the context of development, criminals are one of the factors that hinder society’s pace of life, and how we should tackle them is usually a topic of debate. While a number of people claim that the use of the death penalty eases this problem, there are those who believe capital punishment should be done away with. From my point of view, it is necessary that execution be kept as a punishment in the law system for many reasons. It is argued that the authorities should still adopt capital punishment because of the desirable effects it creates in the fight against criminals. Firstly, the death penalty should be retained due to its deeply punitive and deterrent nature. This measure acts as the most extreme legal action taken against abominable crimes by eliminating any inhumane individual out of the society for what they did. Besides, the death sentence also alarms people who have the same illegal intentions to think twice before going against the law. Secondly, it is the appalling atrocities they carried out that decide whether offenders deserve the death penalty or not. There are such heinous crimes that neither the law nor the people can tolerate, such as brutal killings, mass shootings or sexual assaults. By practising this kind of punishment, local residents infuriated by their savageness will be soothed and feel reassured. However, adversaries of this penal practice believe that it should be abolished on humanitarian grounds. The bottom line is that every human being has a right to live and criminals are, by definition, human beings. Therefore, if governments choose to enact laws that can take the life of someone, the public will be left under the impression that governments are inhumane. Moreover, it is believed that criminals should be given another chance, as many of whom seem genuinely remorseful for their illegal actions, to compensate and to be rehabilitated. In other words, the death penalty is supposed to be nothing more than blocking their way to become a good person again. To sum up, capital punishment should still be kept as an active legislation in the law system. Even though the law should consider humanitarian aspects as well, it is an undeniable truth that some criminals are so brutal that they cannot plead for any reconsideration from the court and the enraged public. Such punishment also serves as an exemplary measure to further prevent similar incidents in the long run.