Governments responsibilities in building countries

Each government represents its country's evolution. Many people opine that governments are only responsible on the economical progress, on the other hand others claims that there are many other important sections in which governments are responsible on, which resemble my opinion too. Economics are the only visual factor that can track a country's progress, and power for example, China is now one of the strongest countries, due to it's progressive increase in it's supplies, and products which in turn, will lead to an increase in the trading section, making China one of the most powerful economics in the world. Moreover, governments have the role of building factories, providing the necessary equipment for farmers, and encourage farming, which in turn will provide the country's needs of products, and increase the amounts of exports. On the same hand, countries with a strong economy, will show a reduction in the poverty levels, will provide job opportunities to plethora of unemployed people. There are many other sections, where a government is responsible on. Teaching for example, it is one of the most important pillars of life, building public schools, and making them for free, or for a nominal cost will build a sophisticated, well educated generation which in turn will interfere in the growth of any country where the case in Germany. Aside of teaching, it is the government responsibility to build hospitals, and provide medical care for the geriatrics. In my opinion, there are numerous sections that must be under the eyes of governments, aside from economics. A powerful, self-sufficient country, isn't only of a strong economy.