Governments nowadays are asking businesses to move from urban areas to rural areas. What are the benefits and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent times, the companies are being asked by the authorities to move themselves to countryside from cities. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks of this situation. There are a plethora of advantages of moving businesses to rural areas. The significant one is to resolve the issue of pollution in the cities released from industries. To illustrate, factories produce noxious emissions in the atmosphere. This leads to polluting the atmosphere of the urban areas, consequently resulting in causing various grave health problems to the citizens. Besides, due to the burgeoning population of cities, providing housing for them is a major concern for the government. If the businesses shift to rural areas, a vast area of land would be available to develop houses for the residents of the cities. Nevertheless, there are numerous downsides of having businesses shifted to countryside. The cogent one is the increased cost of the products. For instance, moving industries to rural areas make them far from the sea port and airport. This leads to an increased travelling distance for the imported raw materials to reach to the factories from the ports, which results in adding to the rate of the products. As well as this, the land of rural areas, which has been utilized for farming, would largely be occupied by the companies after the implication of this policy. This would cause detrimental impacts on the farm produce. In conclusion, to alleviate the issue of pollution and provide housing for people are two major advantages of companies being requested by the authorities to shift to rural areas. Higher cost of produced items and less availability of land for farming are two main drawbacks of this trend.