Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree.

There is no doubt that diabetes is one of the common diseases found among middle aged people across the world. In order to control this, governments are taking preventive actions by introducing / through the introduction of additional taxes on food and beverages with high sugar level. Although many people believe that this an excellent step by the Government, others argue that this might not be really helpful. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and lend my support for the former one. A large number of people believe that increasing the taxes on food and beverages will only fill government’s coffers with additional money. Additionally, paying the extra tax would increase the burden on middle class people and might even deprive them of sugary products. Furthermore, this would adversely impact the manufacturers of these products and they might have to bear heavy losses due to falling demand. On the other hand, this step by government would discourage people from buying food and beverages with high sugar content. This is not only beneficial for adults but also for children, who are tempted by a lot of sugary items such as soft drinks and chocolates. These are the major causes of obesity and hypertension in young children. According to a recent report, increased taxes on Pepsi and Coke have decreased their sale by 30 percent as compared to the last year. Therefore, this could be helpful in controlling the increasing number of diabetic patients. In other words, this measure will do wonders for public health and help both the government and the people to reduce their spending on medical treatment. In conclusion, though it might look like a rigid step taken by the regulating bodies, I believe, it can turn out to be extremely helpful for everyone, and will make them healthier and fitter.