Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

According to few people, main environmental problem in today's world is extinction of plants and animals. Other group of prople believe that there are many other environmental problems which should be considered as important. I opine that other major issues are more of a concern and will be discussing both the views in this essay. One of the major environmental issues is disappearance of flora and fauna species. This results in imbalance in food chain of the environment. Every specie plays a vital role in the environmet and cannot be completely replaced. This has happened due to various human activities such as hunting, proaching, supplying animal's skin for leather, pollution and natural disasters such as deforestation, forest fires, climate change, etc. After developments in human society and over consumption of meat, there is increase in extinction. For example, Philipines is facing scarcity of food due to over consumption of marine animals and their population is also decreased. Conversly, major environmental issues are climate change, pollution, global warming. Climate change is even a bigger challenge faced by the world. Pollution and greenhouse effect has led to increase in global temperature. This has resulted in melting of glaciers and increase in temperature in polar regions. For example, temperature of ocean has increased by 2 degrees. Tsunamis, earthquakes, etc have increased in past decades. Atmospheric composition has changed and resulted in more pollutants. Soil is contaminated by chemicals and thus, has affected in quality of food crops. All of these issues has affected health of many living beings. People are facing serious health problems. Hence to sum up, although extinction of flora and fauna species is one of the major issues, but on a large scale, climate change and related problems are considered as biggest challenges.