GOVERNMENT INVESTMENT IN THE ARTS SUCH AS MUSIC AND THEATRE, IS A WASTE OF MONEY. GOVERNMENTS MUST INVEST THIS MONEY IN PUBLIC SERVICES INSTEAD.

It is an undeniable fact that, the government must invest taxes in a useful way. Some people believe that, utilizing this money on recreational activities like music and theatre is the best idea. However, I would argue that the development of public services must be the top priority of a government. Firstly, I think that, the state must provide a standard education to its people. This is because, in order to prosper and compete with the world, education plays a prime role. For instance, countries like India and Singapore have spent a large amount of money on their education system, which is why they now stand shoulder to shoulder with the developed countries of the world. Moreover, the taxpayers have a due right to lead a successful life, which is best achieved if the government focuses on improving the educational institutes. Secondly, an advanced health system must be kept under consideration when prioritizing the investment of state money. For example, building well equipped hospitals and offering good quality medics at a reasonable price helps a country to flourish by decreasing the burden of ill-health. Therefore, a government must not hesitate to release enough budget for raising the standards of health- care facilities, as after all “Health is Wealth”. In conclusion, although it is a great thought to promote music and arts, I strongly believe that upgrading public services like health and education is something for which government must strive hard. Because it is the major duty of an administration to provide the citizens a chance to live a healthy and successful life.