Global environmental issues are the responsibility of rich nations not of poorer nations. Do you agree with this opinion?

Some people argue that the responsibility rests with wealthy nations not poorer ones when the world confront environmental problems. From my perspective, I agree with this opinion. The first reason why I believe that rich and developed countries have obligation to deal with global environmental issues is they bear more blame on damaging the earth’s ecosystem than developing and underdeveloped ones. As their industries rise, these countries have emitted a great amount of carbon dioxide, making holes in ozone layer through the burning of fossil fuel and deforestation. On the other hand, poor nations have not yet have the chance to burn fossil fuel in large quantities. The impact of those emissions is that despite of being rich or poor, we are together facing climate changes such as global warming and el nino. Moreover, wealthy nations have the capacity to pay for the damages they have caused to the earth. While poor countries are endeavoring with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and unemployment, these issues are no longer problems to wealthy ones. Financial resources accompanied with advancements in science and technology would enable them to hold international projects on the protection of nature. An example of it is developed countries have succeeded in lots of raising fund projects to support third world countries which are suffering from the effects of global warming. These nations also have achievements in the search of sources of alternative energy. In conclusion, I totally agree that it is rich and developed countries not poorer ones are accountable for the current condition of our ecosystem. As they have significantly exploited nature for their economic activities and are also the ones who are able to rectify the situation.