Give the rise in criminal activities across the world, many people believe that long jail term is the only solution to this problem. others, however, think that it is re-education and rehabilitation that holds the key to solving this problem.

Crime is a very old concept and it is transmitted to the society from generation to generation. It is a social evil. Nowadays, the criminal activities are inclining throughout the globe where a number of people think that long term in prison in the ideal remedy to this cause; whereas, others believe that re-education and rehabilitation only can help combat this problem. I would like to flash a bright light on both perspectives in the subsequent paragraphs. To initiate, the increasing crime rate and some major crime ought the long term imprisonment but this can be worse for both criminal and society. For example, when any criminal is kept for a long time in prison they make friends with other offenders, which will make them re-offend when released causing harm to society as well as criminal record makes finding a job very difficult. Thus, they tend to re-offend. On the other hand, rehabilitation and re-education have proved to be better options against long term imprisonment. For instance, criminals most often finds it tough to come back to community. So, the re-education regarding vocational training in while in prisons, helping them to develop some personal and specific job skills. In addition, rehabilitation mainly aim to make offenders better citizens. Hence, it is proved that rehabilitated criminals are less likely to re-offend. In my perspective, Rehabilitation and re-education are better remedies for criminals and there are some other solutions like community service where offenders have to repay their community by doing some work. To conclude, criminals are also humans and should be punished in some distinct ways rather than the traditional way which can help them to be a good person after they are released.